CEOI 2012

Central-European Olympiad in Informatics, 7-13 July, Tata

Olympiads in Hungary

Hungary has a long tradition of organising scientific contests for secondary school students, in most school subjects including mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, history, foreign languages, or most recently, in informatics. Our students are active and successful participants of international student competitions from their very beginnings.

Most recently we mentioned above, hence if we compare the world history of computer technology to the history of our national olympiad in informatics, the so called “Tihamér Nemes” National Contest, you will find it has a rather long history. Our first national informatics contest was in 1985. Today, the contest is organised in three categories for primary and secondary school students in the age groups 10—14, 15—16 and 17—19, and in three rounds (firstly, at school, then on the regional, and finally on the national level). Annually, the total number of participants is ca 4500 in the first round, and ca 120 in the final.

Hungary hosted the 2nd Central-European Olympiad in Informatics (1995, Szeged, 11 countries), 8th Central-European Olympiad in Informatics (2001, Zalaegerszeg, 13 countries), 12nd Central-European Olympiad in Informatics (2005, Sárospatak, 13 countries)  and the 8th International Olympiad in Informatics (1996, Veszprém, 60 countries).

Olympiads in Hungary

Olympiads in Hungary (Special thanks to Laszlo Zentai for this map.)

CEOI 2005

  • Location: Sárospatak, Hungary, 28 July – 5 August, 2005
  • Participants: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sárospatak, Slovakia, Spain, The Netherlands
  • Website:

CEOI 2001

  • Location: Zalaegerszeg, Hungary, 10-17 August 2001
  • Participants: Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Finland, Italy, The Netherlands
  • Website:

CEOI 1995

  • Location: Szeged, Hungary, 29 May – 3 June 1995
  • Participants: Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Ukraine, Yugoslavia
  • Website:

Share and Enjoy

Switch to our mobile site